Interview with fantasy author Amanda J. McGee

Novelist Amanda
J. McGee
joins me today to chat about her new epic fantasy, Daughter of Madness which is Book Two of
the Creation Saga.



During her book tour, Amanda will be
awarding a copy of both published volumes of The Creation Saga: Mother of Creation and Daughter of Madness, (after the June 2,
2018 publishing date, US participants only) to a lucky, randomly drawn winner.
To be entered for a chance to win, use
the form below.
To increase your chances of winning, feel free to visit
her other tour stops
and enter there, too.

Bio:

Amanda J. McGee
is fantasy author living in Southwest Virginia with the love of her life and
two cats. She likes baking, gardening, and flights of fancy.

Please share a little bit about your
current release.

Daughter of
Madness
is the sequel to Mother of Creation, and continues a dark tale of a princess and her
twin, a soldier and his king, an oracle, and the son of a god. It’s an epic
fantasy that should appeal to fans of A Song of Ice and Fire.

What inspired you to write this book?
I’ve always loved epic fantasy. I’ve read all of the best ones by authors like
Elizabeth Bear, Martha Wells, Robert Jordan, Tad Williams, and of course George
R.R. Martin. My love of the genre is definitely what instigated me to write
this, but I also was feeling very frustrated with life when the idea first hit
me. The concept that some things were just fated or that you could try really
hard and still not make it because of luck or destiny was something I was
struggling with, so that feeling inspired a lot of these books.

Excerpt from Daughter of
Madness:

He remembered the moment that the curse had
claimed him.
The king sat in the garden, and the moon shone
down. There was a phantom caress on his skin, an ice cold hand.
Darkness bloomed
in his blood.
He remembered the
moment, over and over, the darkness rising, rising, swamping him.
There was terror there, but for the king it was
an old terror. He had lived with the darkness now for a timeless time, and in
the darkness he was sheltered. He remembered nothing. He was nothing. That was
good, for the man that had been a king sensed that he had failed, that he had
hurt. The world beyond the darkness was made of nothing that he wanted to see
again.
But no night could
last forever.
The man who had
been Alexander came back to himself in blood.

What exciting story are you working on
next?
There is one more book in this series still to
finish, so that will probably be my next project. I also have some fun
mermaid-related ideas I’m playing with, and a ghost story serial I am working
on. Really I am one of those authors who runs after fun ideas regardless of genre
or subgenre.

When did you first consider yourself a
writer?

I have probably been writing my whole life. I
remember as a kid just making up stories in my head about where I was and who I
was, even before I had figured out how to hold a pen. As for when I might be
considered a professional – I don’t know that you ever really feel like a
professional writer. It always sort of seems like a trick you’re playing on
yourself. But maybe I’m wrong, and there will be a day!

Do you write full-time? If so, what’s
your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find
time to write?

At my day job I make maps, among other things. It’s a pretty high stress
position, and sometimes there are late hours, so it can be hard to find writing
time. Usually I spend at least one or two nights a week doing something writing
related, and I get a long lunch so I try to squeeze in writing time there, too.
But if I have deadlines I have to break out the big guns and sacrifice my weekends.

What would you say is your interesting
writing quirk?

One of the weird things I do sometimes is
rearrange the order of words in a sentence. It’s not always intentional, but
I’m afraid it’s leftover from when I studied and wrote poetry. Technically, the
term for this is hyperbaton. It’s used to create a certain sound or impact to a
particular verse or sentence.

As a child, what did you want to be when
you grew up?

When I was really small, they tell me I wanted
to be an airplane pilot. I still really like planes, I think they’re
fascinating. After I got to writing I think it pretty much became my goal from
middle school on.

Anything additional you want to share
with the readers?

I hope that you’ll enjoy the books! You can get them
both for $2.99 on Amazon right now.



Links:

Thank you for being a guest on my blog!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 thoughts on “Interview with fantasy author Amanda J. McGee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *